Colin Firth: You Are Absolutely Brilliant In ‘The King’s Speech’

Colin Firth and Helena Bonham Carter - The Kin...

Image by WorthingTheatres via Flickr


Dear Colin Firth,

I can’t believe I finally saw ‘The King’s Speech‘ tonight. It was as I expected, sheer genius on your part. This film had Oscar written all over it.  What a team you and Geoffrey Rush made,  um no, let me re-phrase that, what a team you, Helena Bonham Carter and Geoffrey Rush made. I felt every line you uttered,  watched with my hand on my heart as you struggled to be heard, even felt your palpable fear.  I laughed at the humor – and there was quite a bit. Yes! I even understood the Australian jokes. You quite literally took my breath away!! I found that I held my breath when you spoke, hoping you were able to articulate without  challenge. I wanted to cry when I heard you tell ‘Lionel Logue’ that you were punished as a child and made to use your right hand when you were actually left-handed, I felt worse when you said you had to wear painful (steel) leg braces to prevent you from being knock-kneed.  You did not speak much, for that was the essence of this film, yet every pained expression, every look you shared with your beloved wife, make no mistake about it, we felt,  as your audience. I wanted to stand up and cheer as you made that final speech.   Er.. one teeny, tiny little thing.. dare I say it, Oh all right.. I will… I, actually loved hearing you swear! and I don’t like to swear at all. I don’t know if it is the thought of a monarch who just for a little while sounds like an ordinary person with a very upper class accent, feeling liberated and letting it all out or if it is just you. I’ve quite decided It is just you!! Could you perhaps do that again in another film?

You cut such a ravishing figure as king George the VI, although I heard Tom Hooper say in his BBC interview that your face was typically not  suited to a Windsor; seeing as they are more narrow and long. Yet you approached this role with such compassion that even Guy Pierce who played your brother could not charm as much as you did. How did you ever manage to portray such a stutter and make it so believable? Loved you dear man! you deserve to win that Oscar! I cannot but hope you do. This is your year!!

Last but not least, playing our beloved Queen mum is not an easy feat, but Helena Bonham Carter seemed so at ease in her role, was it as I imagined when you worked together? I mean we all know the  Queen mum was certainly a battle-axe, and I mean that as a compliment. I hear nothing slipped by her. What a powerful role that was, and oh Geoffrey Rush.. need I say more? You had wonderful chemistry together. Michael Gambon, played an arresting George V and lovely, lovely Jennifer Ehle as Mrs Logue, the cast was one brilliant actor after another. You were all so stellar.

