Mummy’s Indulgent Reading….

I Recently read  ‘Something Borrowed’  by Emily Griffin. It was perfectly light, sometimes funny, but slightly predictable. The story begins with Rachel, a 30 yr old New York City lawyer,  looking to change her single girl status but unable to do so because she is still in love with her college crush Dex. Small problem there… Rachel introduced Dex to her best friend Darcy and now they’re getting married. Sort of like 27 Dresses – the film – you’ll know what I mean if you’ve seen it, although this ends differently. Anyway, Rachel and Dex spend the night together, discover feelings for each other and Rachel goes about dealing with the tremendous guilt of what she has done and warm feelings of “I should be with Dex instead of Darcy” simultaneously. You can sort of imagine the rest. I loved how Griffin painted Darcy as an unlikable, demanding, self-centered, yet super confident, beautiful woman. She does irritate in that perky, fashionable, New York City sort of way – I’m not much of a fan of Dex  either. The only redeeming quality he has.. from ‘typical man’ – wants to have the cake and eat it – status, is that he has such genuine feelings for Rachel and is sick of Darcy.  Give it go and read. It’s all right.

2 thoughts on “Mummy’s Indulgent Reading….

  1. I’ve heard of this novel; apparently, Giffin is the 21st century answer to Jane Austen – do you think so? Also, the next novel in the series, again I haven’t read it yet, is told from Darcy’s point of view.

    I’m going to add this one to my list!!

    Thanks!!! 🙂

    Like

    • Hmmm, not sure if she is the 21st century answer to Jane Austen yet and you know how we both feel about Austen 🙂 I liked the book but thought it very predictable. I’m interested to read it in Darcy’s point of view. Do you know the name of the book?

      Like

Comments are closed.