Mummy is ecstatic that Colin Firth will take on Henry Higgins…

Dear Colin,

This is surprising to say the least! I did not expect to be writing to you so soon. But I had to didn’t I? you are a brave, and most wonderful actor, what a challenge.  My Fair Lady is one of my favorite films and Pygmalion a most loved play.  There was no one comparable to Rex Harrison or Audrey Hepburn, er, well that is until you threw your hat into the proverbial ring. I understand Carey Mulligan is to play Eliza. I don’t know her work all that well, so it is difficult to imagine anyone in Audrey’s role.  You on the other hand, um, how brilliant is that. I think Emma Thompson is so lovely. How wonderful that she has written this script. Please do the original proud and give us the best Henry Higgins of all time. I can’t wait to hear you sing again and I really am anxious to hear just who might take on the role of Col.Pickering and Freddie. My imagination is already running wild with endless possibilities for this film and the direction it might take i.e. will you play Henry Higgins as he was originally – a lovable curmudgeon of sorts or will you play the handsome well to-do professor who falls for a flower girl but is too proud to do anything but help her speak well and enter into society as a lady. You can do ‘proud’ quite well as we all know. Well all I can say is when ?  when will this project begin? I really do want to know. Oh, and what on earth is that story about Hugh Grant turning down ‘The King’s Speech’ and now this role as well? Is he quite mad?

3 thoughts on “Mummy is ecstatic that Colin Firth will take on Henry Higgins…

  1. First let me say that I am amazed at how you always know the inside scoop on our man, Colin. So are they really remaking the musical? How exciting! This I cannot wait to see. For it, too, has always been one of my favorites. I LOVE the Audrey Hepburn/Rex Harrison version, and I’m sure this will be stupendous too. Thanks for the heads up!

    Like

    • I do a weekly review of film news and mostly look at British newspapers. He’s involved in a lot of things.. from facebook funerals to politics.. I know 🙂 sounds funny does it not?
      Oh my gosh, you know I can’t tell you the joy i felt when I heard he was interested in this project.. I really hope they do a good re-make.

      Like

Comments are closed.