Lovely to have you in North Carolina Colin Firth…

Dear Colin,

How are you? how do you like coming back to Wilmington?  I love the premise of this film and I adore Emily Blunt, she is utterly beautiful. The last film I watched with Emily was ‘The Adjustment Bureau,’ and even though it was on a tiny screen miles and miles away from home, I loved her performance. Oh, and Anne Heche plays your wife? – really? interesting choice there. So, on to this new role then… ‘Arthur Newman, Golf Pro’  what does that mean? are you a professional golf player then? – um, somehow I can’t see you as a man who plays golf, did you have to learn for the film?  well, cricket maybe( have I told you how much I love cricket?) or even soccer. Anyway… I read that in this film,you pretend to be dead so you can leave your past behind and start over… hmmm… you then meet Blunt’s character – I already love that she is troubled and wants to run away as badly as you – is there some sort of a relationship between you? How delightful that would be.  Then you break into homes and um, indulge in a bit of identity theft… er, quite interesting, that.  Lucky people of North Carolina, they get to see you work. Wish I was there.

7 thoughts on “Lovely to have you in North Carolina Colin Firth…

  1. it seems to me that the plot of “Arthur Newman golf pro” took the cue from corean director ki-duk-kim’s film “3-Iron”

    Like

  2. It is WONDERFUL to have Colin so nearby here in NC. Lucky me got my picture taken with him and have seen him many times now at different shoots.

    Like

  3. I thought he was extremely gracious and easily as nice as people say!! When I told him I had loved him in The King’s Speech and had seen it three times, I got a big smile and a thank you. He was chatting with the local teenagers who had happened upon the filming and wanted his autograph. I can’t believe he wasn’t exhausted and looking forward to a night of shooting at another site. On another evening, I was watching as he was chatting with the crew in a very animated fashion — we were across the street and could hear his voice and see his arms waving! Seems like someone you would really like to have as a next door neighbor! Meeting him has made me realize even more what a fantastic well trained actor he is — he is so different from his on screen persona.

    Like

    • Isn’t he just delightful? I really do think what you see is what you get with him. I love that he is so influenced by Italy, his way of talking with arms waving everywhere makes him seem so much like one of us, rather than a classically trained actor. Imagine having him as a neighbor. I bet he would have no peace, either that, or we would all be so used to it, it would be just wonderful. No, you know, I get the feeling he is slightly different from the person he appears to be on screen – extremely down to earth. I added your blog address to my most recent post about Colin Firth and I hope you get many more readers that way.

      Like

Comments are closed.