Winter Warmies…

I am definitely not one to adjust to Winter and I detest the cold bare feeling that creeps into my bones  when I step outside. I do however, love the rain because it is absolutely perfect for reading. Those of you with the coldest of Winters are allowed to laugh at my Northern Californian griping. Bear in mind though that I adore warm and sunny. Moving right along then… I am now preparing to hibernate, er, not like a bear, because I don’t hide away in my house; kids need to go to school, plenty of mum things to keep me on my toes etc.  I do have a list of some lovelies to keep me warm…

My favorite herbal tea in Black Cherry and books I will be reading...

I love Tracy Chevalier – I am currently reading ‘The Lady and The Unicorn. I also cannot wait to get into Patrick Rothfus’s ‘Name of the Wind.’ A good friend told me If I loved Harry Potter I am certain to love this book. I also have Sarah Dunnant’s ‘Sacred Hearts,’ Italy in the 14th century is right up my alley.  A.S. Byatt’s ‘ Possession‘ I hear is a literary classic. I also have David Liss’s ‘The Twelfth Enchantment‘ which is another brilliant literary mystery and the Russian Winter which was recommended as a wonderful piece of historical fiction. Do you sense my excitement?

Along with a cuppa and books, I must confess that I am utterly devoted to this particular brand of chocolate – in fact I am eating it non-stop. I feel it’s a healthier alternative to my usual milk variety, which I have not been able to eat in quite a while. This particular slab is made of a 60%  dark cocoa bean( it is branded with the fair trade logo – so you know you’re supporting cocoa bean farmers in Africa) with blissful bits of ginger and orange.  The tiny squares sort of sit on the palate, and once the chocolate has melted it imparts a subliminal mix of orange and ginger which are chewy but delicious.

I like to slip into some toasty socks, rub my very favorite Burt’s Bees coconut foot cream and then treat my Winter-dry hair and face to some wonderful organic Moroccan Argan oil. I do like  a lot of eco-friendly products. I try not to overload the body with chemicals, so I choose wisely. Argan oil is not cheap, but Amazon.com has some pretty good brands that are eco-certified. Burts Bees is lovely. I’ve used it on my babies and on myself forever.

And last but not least… I have some Winter warmies that I can’t wait to watch again and again – at Thanksgiving and Christmas. I love Period drama. If you know me and my love of all things Austen or Bronte or Dickens.. then I have it on my list. Oh and I have a recent addition… ‘Downton Abbey’ – it is so fantastic. Who does not like Dame Maggie Smith? Cannot wait for season 2.

 Pride and Prejudice ( for like the millionth time) – yes! of course the Colin Firth version

Persuasion – Rupert Penry Jones as Captain Wentworth and Sally Hawkins as Anne Elliot are amazing…

Jane Eyre ( not the most recent one, but the one with Toby Stephens and Ruth Wilson – love them as Rochester and Jane)

David Copperfield ( with a very young Daniel Radcliffe and Maggie Smith)

Nicholas Nickelby ( must watch!)

10 thoughts on “Winter Warmies…

  1. Mummy, I love your posts!! Especially because they are not only about reviews … love the parts about books and chocolate 🙂 I added some of your books to my list, and searched the library database for the ‘Russian Winter’ I found it… will get that on Monday 🙂 Happy Reading!! 🙂

    Like

    • Mmmmm, give me chocolate and books with a good cuppa and I’m there.. bet you’re the same. I’ve heard Russian Winter is amazing.. so I can’t wait to dive into that. Can’t wait to hear what you think. I’m just now getting back into Lady and the Unicorn… couldn’t before which is highly unusual for Tracy Chevalier. I think it was more my mental block than anything else 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m exactly the same! Is it any wonder we get along so well? 🙂 I’ve ordered ‘The Twelfth Enchantment’, which should be arriving any time soon. Read the blurb for ‘Russian Winter’ and it sounds fascinating – will definitely let you know what I make of it … can’t wait to read your review 🙂 I didn’t quite make it through ‘The Lady and the Unicorn’ – not sure why, but think I may have had too much Tracy Chevalier in one go :S Can’t wait to hear what you make of it … 🙂 Cheers 🙂

    Like

    • We do indeed. I think a couple of slabs of chocolate, two comfy chairs thrown in, A lovely library of books and you and I are all set to go – what say you? Oh my gosh, This Twelfth Enchantment is supposed to be right up our alley, I can’t wait to dive into it. Hmmm, I was expecting the beginning of Lady and the Unicorn to be like Reliable Creatures or even the beginning of Girl with The Pearl Earring’ but it’s not. My friend told me ‘Virgin Blue’ was amazing. So I haven’t given up hope. Guess what I am reading though??? Rick Riordan’s newbie – The Son of Neptune – I haven’t even read ‘ The Lost Hero’ but I am so into this book – you know how much I love mythology 😉 you’ve got to read!!! 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve just bought ‘Name of the Wind’ and ‘Possession’ as well. Have you seen the movie version of Possession? I really liked it and it made me want to read ‘Possession’ even more. I saw Byatt speak at one point – she’s a truly impressive lady!
    Oh, and Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth is amazing!

    Like

    • Wow! there is a film version of Possession? I have to get it for sure. Thank you for telling me. I’ve heard that Byatt is an amazing writer. I can’t wait to get into the book. Colin Firth’s version of Pride will always be my favorite I think. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

      Like

      • Yes, it’s with Gwyneth Paltrow. I can’t say how it holds up against the book since I haven’t read it yet. The only other Byatt I’ve read, is The Children’s Book. I’ve heard that should be one of her weaker novels – but I still loved it. I’ve been kind of afraid of reading her since she just is so so clever but after reading The Children’s Book I’m not afraid anymore (although she really is terribly clever!!).
        And yeah, everything just works in the Colin Firth version. Not like in the Keira Knightley one…

        Like

      • I am reading ‘The Lady and the Unicorn right now, have you read it? So far it is not as nice as Reliable Creatures or Virgin Blue. Hmmm, Gwyneth Paltrow in the film, that will be interesting. I have to start on this book soon. I love a clever writer. There are very few of them now don’t you think? Another author I think of as clever is Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Love ‘ A hundred years of solitude.’ I would be interested to read Byatt’s The Children’s Book myself.
        I could not get into the Keira Knightly version of Pride and Prejudice. I liked her as Lizzie, but the Darcy was disappointing, because he was not Colin Firth I guess.

        Like

  4. The film version of ‘Possession’ is quite good, although I’m not a fan of Gwenyth Paltrow. Byatt is an amazing writer – can’t wait to hear your take on the book. Gosh, there’s nobody who can play Mr. Darcy like Colin Firth! Swoon!!! 🙂

    Like

    • I can’t wait to tell you what I think myself. Not sure how I would feel about Gwyneth yet. Mmmm, no one like Colin Firth – you’re so right. 🙂 I am such a fan – can you tell? 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.