Simple Portobello and Asparagus pasta – Gluten Free and Vegan

I really am a work in progress – not always the best effort, but I’m getting there. Now that I am gradually evolving towards becoming a vegan, I feel healthier- I am currently a part-time vegan – I love cheese and I am exceedingly( far, far too much) fond of shrimp. However, since I find myself enjoying a plant-based diet more and more, and my eldest who has quite a few food allergies, needs to be on a gluten-free/ wheat free diet, I find myself experimenting with gluten-free products frequently. I feel better, have more energy( now I know, why she has so much energy too) and we all enjoy the food. Oh and by the way, gluten-free does not have to mean you compromise on taste. After an exhausting afternoon of ballet rehearsals today, I was feeling very hungry, my girls, even more so. I love Portobello mushrooms and Asparagus in any dish.

What you will need:

1 package of Gluten Free/Wheat Free Organic Brown Rice Penne

6 small Portobello mushrooms – wiped clean with a paper towel, stems trimmed and sliced

About a dozen spears of Asparagus – look out for thin ends – they are better and snap quickly

Chopped garlic and ginger

Sea salt – a tiny amount

Finely ground pepper

Olive Oil – about 1 tablespoon

  A  pinch of smoked Spanish paprika – it is so fragrant, if you don’t have it in your pantry, that’s okay. Sometimes a little gluten-free tomato sauce adds a bit of flavor. By little, I mean about 3 – 4 drops.

Lightly saute the garlic and ginger in olive oil until fragrant and golden, add the sliced Portobello and  asparagus, allow flavors to blend, gently tossing now and then. Add the sea salt and pepper, also the paprika if you have it or want a little kick to the dish and set aside. You can either boil the pasta simultaneously or separately. Tip. Gluten free pasta tends to be sticky, I suggest stirring as often as possible and adding sufficient olive oil and salt to boiling water. Once you drain the pasta,  fold in gently to the mushroom and asparagus mixture, and there, you have your dish.

For excellent vegan recipes you’ve got to check out a pretty cool and inspiring blog: http://hauteahimsa.com/

5 thoughts on “Simple Portobello and Asparagus pasta – Gluten Free and Vegan

  1. This is the kind of dish I serve often in my house. It’s perfect for nights when I get in late and don’t want to be bothered. The taste and texture is classy and thoroughly satisfying (I consider it a comfort food).

    Mine is usually paired with mesclun and plum tomatoes with a twisted pinch of sea salt and a drizzle of olive oil. Fresh, baked biscuits on the side takes this from “dinner” to the point of having everyone say, “yes, Master!”

    I’ve been hearing a lot about smoked paprika recently and think I should stock up on some. Thanks for yet another reminder. Now I know what to make for dinner.

    Like

Comments are closed.