Duran Duran is back!

The boys: 30 years after their first single Planet Earth stormed the charts, the Durans still ooze sex appeal

Duran Duran 30 years later

Photo Courtesy :www.dailymail.co.uk

 Most of you know, I am obsessed with many things British. Could be because I grew up in a Commonwealth country, or that I lived a better part of my life in Australia – I don’t know.  What I do know is that the 80s brought so much into my life – how could it not? it was the era of leg warmers and big hair, neons and  headbands worn across the forehead, it was Footloose, Flashdance, Pretty in Pink and St Elmo’s Fire and it was definitely my favorite time for British pop music.

Almost 30 years of fantastic music, a few breaks in-between and Duran Duran has not lost “it” at all. They are back with a fantastic album that has gone to #1 in fifteen countries simultaneously – how about that for longevity? I remember my Simon Le Bon posters with such love, I wish I had kept them to show my daughters. Much to my parents chagrin, I had one entire door lined with Simon’s face, and many more of John Taylor along the wall, Simon was always my guy though, it didn’t matter that he was married to the gorgeous and ethereal Yasmin, he beat out George Michael, the guys from Spandau Ballet, Frankie Goes to Hollywood , even Paul Young and well, as much as I loved the Beatles, these men were the Beatles of my time.  I was a tad envious of some of my friends who managed to lay their hands Duran Duran bed sheets and pillow cases – can you believe? I would have settled for pencils and erasers –  we were not in the doll era back then of course. I would have been first in line to get my Simon doll …

 Duran Duran were quite well-known for their artistic videos, and while I was partial to certain songs, Girls on Film, their most controversial video at the time, was honestly quite good. I absolutely loved it. I didn’t know what all the fuss was about, er, well, I didn’t tell my parents I saw it. Oh, and then Bob Geldorf did Band-Aid, I was over the moon and in Australia at the time. I clearly remember every minute of it. I must have watched the making of it many times over. It was filled with British heartthrobs but I was only interested in seeing Simon sing. I thought he was so handsome back then – um, he wasn’t really, but he is pretty charming.

Although they filmed  Reflex, Save a Prayer, Rio and if I’m not mistaken – Hungry Like a Wolf, where I grew up, I never got to see them in concert until 4 years ago. You can imagine how much planning that took. They were older, slightly rounder but sounded just as fantastic. They have collaborated with Justin Timberlake and so many others – I am amazed that thirty years later, they are still evolving. Their newest video for ‘Girl Panic’ has caused some controversy for it’s rather raunchy content, but, it is essentially taking the mickey out of  fashion and glamour as well as the paparazzi in some ways. Here’s what I love about it – it has brought together five of the world’s most famous supermodels  – Naomi Campbell, Cindy Crawford, Helena Christensen, Yasmin Le Bon – Simon’s wife and Eva Herzigova – imagine that? The models play the band members in a parody of sorts and it looks fabulous, the colors are gorgeous. They were on Good Morning America today and I was just as excited as I would have been back in the 80s. They certainly made my day.

4 thoughts on “Duran Duran is back!

  1. Ah, I remember the 80’s and I remember the song, Hungry Like a Wolf. Great beat. But my favorites back then were The Cars and Cheap Trick. I could listen to them all day. What memories! Glad you got to finally see your favorite 80’s band! 🙂

    Like

    • The hits were endless back then weren’t they? I loved the Cars and Cheap Trick. I still remember how Whitney Houston’s ‘How Will I Know’ was really special to me at one time, I listened to it over and over. I remember how I rocked to Bon Jovi’s ‘ Living on a Prayer’- although I prefer his hair the way it is now 🙂 such good times.

      Like

  2. My high school best friend was sooo into Simon LeBon and I was in love with John Taylor and his jawline, hahaha. Fun times.
    I’m sorry you got rid of your posters. Believe it or not, I still have my DD scrapbook! Someday I will show it to the world. 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.