Rumor Has it

Dear Colin,

How are you?  it has been quite a while since I wrote to you. Have you missed my letters then? er, well, perhaps not. I’ve been busy with some political things, yes, you heard right, political – as in the Presidential elections. I am heavily involved, well, um, not really, and I’m not on the campaign trail or anything like that, but as a blogger, I hope to make an impact. I’ve heard you like our current President, yes, yes, I do too. I think he is such a smart man and a visionary. Not many understand his decisions, the mind boggles really, but you’ve got to think before you speak, haven’t you and even a President has got to have an off day. People are extremely unforgiving. Our political landscape needs some severe weeding I’d say. A lot of name calling (really quite derogatory) and mud-slinging going on. Very unpleasant business.

So, rumor has it – um, no, not like Adele’s song – do you like Adele?… that all four of you are considering a reprisal of your roles in a sequel to ‘The King’s Speech.’ And by  all four, I mean Geoffrey Rush, yourself, Helena and Tom Hooper as director. That is going to be some film. Er, I’m just curious about the reason behind this sequel, aren’t you at all worried it will not be the same as the original? and is it really going to be called King’s Speech 2? I certainly hope not. I hope there is a fantastic title to this film. I do love the concept. The whole idea of highlighting the  blitz of World War II and the crises experienced by not just the entire Royal household, but, by Lionel Logue and his family as well,  is definitely something I would want to see. I am just surprised by the whole idea of a sequel, I’m assuming, you really believe in this project, to actually want it to happen.

photo courtesy: wwwtorontolife.com

Parties — Overboard

photo courtesy: http://www.vogue.com/parties/lapo-elkann-livia-firth-franca-sozzani-host-a-venice-film-festival-dinner/

I didn’t mean to forget, but, happy belated birthday to you. I am a month late. I know, well er, I don’t know actually, because I don’t know you, so this may not be true, but I did read that you don’t like celebrating your birthday. Also, you were in Toronto at the time, are you always at the Toronto film festival when you celebrate the birthday? well, I’m not going to sing you Happy Birthday or anything like that, no grand gestures, um, in fact, I will now stop talking about it and move on to er, other important things… I finally caught up with Livia’s blog. My word, she has been a busy lady hasn’t she? I just love the fact that Emily Blunt ( really love her) is  on board for the GCC along with Tory Burch who made that stunning reclaimed silk dress for her to wear on the red carpet. I can’t wait to see Arthur Newman, I think you and Emily have lovely chemistry. Was Livia nervous when she had to present the GCC at the first Ladies luncheon in New York? I imagine, I would be quite tongue-tied. I’m guessing, there was no such problem though, I bet everyone was just completely bowled over by her dedication to not just the GCC, but to ethical fashion in general. What an honor for her.

4 thoughts on “Rumor Has it

  1. MM, it’d be interesting to see what they’d do with a King’s Speech sequel. It was such a wonderful film. Keep me posted on this, please. Love your Colin letters. So informative!

    Like

    • Hmmm, You’re so sweet. Thank you, I’m glad you understand my delusional letters to Colin.
      I always wonder about those sequels Monica, it has me a teeny bit concerned because King’s Speech was just marvelous. I really hope it is as good as the first, the promise is certainly there. I also heard that Helen Mirren was doing another film about the queen. There must be something in the water 🙂

      Like

    • 🙂 🙂 ha! haaa! I adore Colin Firth, as you can tell. I do think Hugh Jackman and Ewan McGregor come in a close second though.

      Like

Comments are closed.