Looking Back

I’ve turned 40( yes, a big number, but really, how big is it?). I am 40 and two days old actually, and um, it isn’t all that great, well, not yet anyway – er, I suppose I haven’t been 40 all that long. Besides, it hasn’t felt like much of a celebration because the entire week leading up to it was wrought with tough decisions – my mother in-law who is most beloved, is very sick and it is now a day by day process – my husband is on the East Coast and only just made it before the storm hit. Due to Sandy, my best friend and other family and friends were without power( some still are), there is no fresh produce at the grocery stores, although it is picking up a little at a time. It is heartbreaking to watch the East try to recover. The elections are next week and well, most of you who know me, know that it is a wee bit of a challenge to feel hopeful right now.

I felt my thirties sort of dragged on a bit, and while all my friends have been groaning about the dreaded approach of this one number, I have been waiting. Very patiently I might add, for my birthday.  I thought there might be some sort of revelation? I was expecting a secret society to herald a new era, to welcome the dawn of a new beginning and share with me all the lovely bits and pieces about turning 40. I believe you’re supposed to discover who you are, what sort of friends you want in your circle, look better, feel better and bring your A game all the time – what is that anyway? – is there a B and C subsequently, and are these for the 50s and 60s? I don’t know. I already know who I am, I have some very dear friends and I’ve seen others come and go, I cherish the ones that stay, and well, I really try not to sweat the small stuff. I feel better, well, I did have that surgery last year where a certain area was removed and I gathered, I was supposed to mourn its loss – I did no such thing. It took a while, but it wasn’t serious and I rejoiced in that. So, I thought I should abandon all my important posts( um, there are quite a few pending), to look back on the year instead.

Went on a fantastic trip to Europe and made some lovely friends.

Ate a lot of chocolate..  because I could, finally. Well,I switched to dark chocolate.

I love Theo & Divine chocolate. Photo courtesy: http://www.fairtradesource.org

Spent time with family and friends from Australia. I am part Aussie after all.

Made birthday cakes for my kids( I usually do) – but, they were very specific this year… Greek Myths inspired and a flower with butterflies.

Made new friends via my blog, read some fantastic books, met lovely, up and coming authors- who spoke to me through a perfect symmetry of words and pictures. Learned a lot about human nature – most of it hmmm, quite questionable – and um, well, tried to be dairy free. Found out I still like cheese. So I am not  completely dairy free, nor have I completely given up eating fish, I have decided I don’t like labels, so I will not call myself a pescatarian – some people insist I am. I do try to stick to gluten-free however (labels are impossible to avoid). Is this what turning 40 is all about? decisions about cheese and health? I am a self-confessed foodie, so I plan to enjoy a bit of eating, I’d say. I definitely  do plan to take it one day at a time, try out new things, travel more and just be. Let’s see how that goes then, shall we?

4 thoughts on “Looking Back

  1. OMG I am so sorry I put the date in my Calendar and I forgot 😦 I am sooo sorry MM
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DARLING!!! I’m glad you like dark chocolate…so do I 🙂
    Yay Aussie lady – I luves ya.

    Life begins at 40 my sweet so though your birthday may not have fallen in a ‘good-time’…celebrate it and enjoy the milestone.
    xxxxxxxxx

    Like

    • Aww Mumsy you’re such a love. Thank you so much. The thought alone of wishing me touched me a great deal. Sending you lots of love. It is a milestone and you’re right I really should celebrate. Not feeling it yet. Maybe with time. I have sort of decided I will celebrate with little joys each day- what do you think? A step in the right direction hmmm. Ooooh I love dark chocolate, I got some double dipped dark Chocolate Cherry Ripes and I can’t tell you how much I am enjoying them. My Aussie side knows what to send me for my birthday:-))))
      xxx

      Like

Comments are closed.