Vegan/Gluten-Free Brownies For Valentines Day

Ever since Mika at  who is simply brilliant at making vegan food introduced me to these brownies, I have been experimenting with them, trying to make them gluten-free( they are made with regular wheat flour) without the after taste.  I try to stick to a gluten-free/ dairy free diet as much as possible but as luck would have it, er, it is a little difficult as I love cheese, oh I really love cheese, well, um, anyway…  another bonus is that my daughter who is allergic to wheat/gluten loves these brownies too. Trying to get chocolate to taste a certain way –  my way, really, – with gluten-free flour was really appealing to me and let’s just say, I know what I want in a gooey, decadent brownie. However, getting these brownies to work for me has taken some effort. When my girls school decided to do a celebration appreciating their teachers this week, instead of a traditional Valentines Day party, I wanted to bake these brownies for two of the teachers that I know are gluten-free and vegan. They really liked it.

This recipe for gluten-free brownies has been amended from a vegan brownie recipe on

What you will need:

2 cups Gluten free flour( white rice flour, potato starch, tapioca starch, guar gum and salt)

3/4 cup cocoa powder( I use Ghirardelli)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

2 cups sugar( I used 1 cup vegan sugar and 1 cup brown- it’s not too sweet)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 – 3/4 cup coffee ( I have learned that pairing chocolate with coffee really enhances the flavor in the chocolate)

1/2 cup apple sauce

1 tbs oil – ( I use canola)

This recipe makes the brownies extra gooey, so if you want to tone it down, you can add less apple sauce. The original recipe calls for 1 cup oil which is just too much. Once I reduced it to half a cup and then based on a reader suggestion added the apple sauce, further reducing the oil to only 1 tbs, It turned out really well. Let me know how you go.

7 thoughts on “Vegan/Gluten-Free Brownies For Valentines Day

  1. MM, I assumed that link for allrecipes would go directly to their vegan brownie recipe but, fyi, it doesn’t. Anyway, I haven’t made the plunge to gluten-free, though when I visit Seattle, there is a proliferation of gluten-free products, many of which are delicious. This looks good, too!

    Like

    • Thanks for that Monica, I don’t know what happened… Yikes, will check it out now. Gluten free is becoming quite the thing now. A few years ago my daughter hardly had any options when we went out. Everything she had was home made, thank goodness we have more pasta options and even cookies that she can now sample as a treat:-)

      Like

  2. this looks great! we don’t have any gluten problems in this family, however my son and husband have both very high cholesterol levels so I appreciate sweets with no eggs nor butter (or just a bit ). I ll give these brownies a try with just regular flour (the no gluten flour is still sooooooooo expensive here in Greece)

    Like

    • Tatu, my link to the original recipe didn’t work out but I’ve fixed it. No, I agree, gluten free flour over here is pretty expensive too but my daughter needs it, so I always have it in my pantry. If not I use rice based products for her. We all try to be gluten free to support her 🙂 US wheat is more hybridized now and really unhealthy. It is such a pity. I am constantly bloated if I have too much wheat. Sigh.

      Like

  3. I think your photo looks lovely Shamz as do the brownies..I have to admit I have never heard of Vegan brownies, so today I have learnt something. xxx ps and who doesn’t love gooey brownies! 😉

    Like

    • Awww thank you Mumsy, my blog friend Tita of http://www.titabuds.com told me how to play with various photo editing things and to try stuff out, I love it. I don’t have photoshop but am seriously thinking about it. I used a movie frame for this one but it is a little darker than I like.
      xxxx

      Like

Comments are closed.