The Flu is Truly an Artist

The Flu is an artist. A special virus. Flashy. Modern. Not unlike Picasso, Miró and Gaudi. Although it isn’t Spanish and they are incomparable. It’s slightly odd comparing the flu to art but I tend to think in color. I recently taught my daughter’s class how to express like Miró. Maybe that’s why. This flu is bright with splotches of red, pale like slivers of the moon and drippy like rivulets of water sliding down a stormy window. The splotches are not the measles I assure you. I’ve had the measles. They weren’t pretty either. Chicken pox has hit one child’s school. It isn’t the pox. It is just heavy and powerful, expressive and stubborn. The splotches are red and angry, the body fighting a virus. I would like to bid it adieu, but it will not leave. Its refusal isn’t kind. An unwelcome addition that drains and exhaustively surrounds all at the same time.

joan-miro-at-tate-gallery

I don’t know why it decided to paint my family with its bright colors, but it’s difficult to wipe clean. Not water-soluble if you know what I mean. Although much water is consumed to wipe out toxins and tissue boxes are like collectibles in every room. Vitamin c, elderberry syrup, bowls of chicken soup and probiotics lie in order on the kitchen counter;orange, purple, brown and white. It is not the sort of art I want in my house. It has invaded my life, rendering my powers of positive thinking into complete uselessness. We are in rounds two and three. I sigh, I hope. Fingers crossed, I wait.

 

21 thoughts on “The Flu is Truly an Artist

  1. So sorry to hear that the flu has invaded your home meditating mummy. I was wondering why I hadn’t seen you around in a while. Hoping everyone in your household will be on the mend and back to their normal routines soon. Feel better.

    Like

    • Laurie, you are so lovely, thank you so much for your positive energy. I’m truly hopeful this virus will be kicked out the door before it takes root again. We’ve been ill on and off since January.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Last year I was sick for two weeks in January and then again in March for another two weeks, and I’m hardly ever sick with upper respiratory infections and such. I was so miserable; in bed practically the whole time each time. But I finally got better, and you and yours will too. ( :

        Liked by 1 person

    • Can you believe it lasts for a week. Whatever happened to a 2-3 day recovery. My youngest had a bad run. Is on the mend thank goodness
      Are you feeling better
      xxx

      Like

  2. You have brilliantly described a current feature of my home… ’tissue boxes are like collectibles in every room’… I hear you. Today’s viruses have morphed beyond the typical ten day variety. We have been fighting it with 24 hour bone broth and 12 year old Scotch…my kind of medicine! I send you get well wishes and a comforting banana muffin. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you …a banana muffin would be so welcome about now. I have however settled for dark chocolate with sea salt. My taste buds are somewhat normal now, my youngest still struggles to regain her appetite – she loves her food. Ah, love your remedy. 12 yr old scotch eh? I bet that will do it. I do not know how these viruses last longer and longer with each passing year but they leave you weak for months. I have not felt myself in a long while.

      Like

  3. Ugh, MM. And I thought I had it bad by traveling to the epicenter of the Zika virus. I was so afraid of getting bitten by the Zika mosquito but I managed to leave Scott free while you wallowed in your illness. Poor you and your family. I hope you’re on the mend soon!

    Like

    • Monica, I was thinking of you as I read report after report on the Zika. I’m so happy you escaped unscathed. I can’t wait to see your photos, I bet it was so fulfilling. I am much better thank you, my youngest is on the mend too, although her body still aches.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I did watch Monica. Oh poor Henry, of course he’s sad. I watched it end with a heavy heart myself, although I thought it was a fitting end for most of the characters and finally joy for Edith. I’m going to check out your post…

        Like

Comments are closed.