I Quote Saturdays – Light

quote-hemingway

Light seeps in when we least expect it. Into all those broken bits, it trickles. Into corners it settles. Lifting, smiling, gladdening. When we are broken, when we have lost, when we cannot fathom, light shines bright, with hope, with love and with spirit.

A New Year embraced in other parts of the world.

A New Year arriving in our land. We have lost some beautiful people this year. Too soon, too much to bear. Much has happened in the last few months; change, divisive behavior, discriminatory language and simply the inability to understand that we all, – every last one of us, no matter our color or our beliefs – want light, happiness, laughter and love. Here’s to that I say.. may it last long.

Light to all of you my friends in the blogging world, as silent as I am sometimes, I send you hope and love for a positive, happy, healthy 2017. We are blessed to have a community such as ours. There is joy in us. Thank you to all of your comments, support and strength. Thank you for the laughter. I read and smile often.

 

 

8 thoughts on “I Quote Saturdays – Light

  1. This is beautiful, MM. Well said. My favorite portion is this:
    “Light seeps in when we least expect it. Into all those broken bits, it trickles. Into corners it settles. Lifting, smiling, gladdening. When we are broken, when we have lost, when we cannot fathom, light shines bright, with hope, with love and with spirit.”

    Reads like fine, delicate wisp of poetry blowing gently in the wind. Quite romantically beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve been so sick this break Monica. Christmas was a blur, unable to shake it off for more than a week, I woke up one morning and the news was too much. Congress and its ideas, Putin and Trump had just about rendered me speechless, George Michael had passed. Carrie Fisher, and then Debbie Reynolds. I watched the sunrise, the light trickling in, I felt my heart lift and I knew then light can do just about anything. I found the Hemingway quote by accident and this was borne from that. I’m so glad you liked it, that means so much.

      Like

  2. I really like Leonard Cohen who wrote “Hallelujah” song. He wrote a similar quote about how cracks let the light come through.
    Of course, it wasn’t as lovely as the full quotation Monica shared.

    Like

    • Thank you. I’m a big Cohen fan. The quote I chose was apt. Hemingway always has one or two lines that inspire me. I wrote as I felt that morning. I watched the sunlight slowly warming up the nooks and crannies of my home. It seeped into my skin as I sat on the stairs, in my blanket, mourning losses, feeling reflective.. my words took it from there.

      Like

Comments are closed.